Projects > Southwest LRT, Transitional Station Area Plans

Southwest LRT, Transitional Station Area Plans

Hennepin County, Minnesota 2012 - 2013

Concept plan with transportation corridors noted.

Hennepin County’s new southwest LRT corridor connects the City of Minneapolis to the neighbouring cities of St Louis Park, Hopkins, Minnetonka and Eden Prairie. The introduction of LRT to the Southwest corridor is an important step towards providing enhanced mobility for the people who live, work, study and play along the line. While over the longer term the investment in rapid transit will help to support the creation of more transit supportive places, it will be important to ensure that amenities are put in place for opening day to make it easier for people to walk, cycle, take transit or drive to the LRT.

Urban Strategies, in partnership with HKGi and IBI, developed a series of transitional station area plans for the 17 stations along the corridor. The plans identify immediate, near term and long term strategies to make the most of the transit investment, enhancing access to the stations on opening day and establishing a framework for new transit-oriented development over the long-term.

Pages from TSAAP All July 15_slide

Project Details


Hennepin County

Consultant Team

IBI Group

Land Use/Scale


Related Projects

Davenport Diamond Rail Overpass aerial rendering

Davenport Diamond Rail Overpass

2014 - 2016

The Davenport Diamond Guideway reduces congestion, improves pedestrian and bike connections and improves rail service reliability.

USI staff member talking to a group of people.

Eglinton East Planning Study

2018 - 2020

Creating a vision for the corridor to guide change and leverage the transit investment to foster more complete communities.